Lower Subansiri District at a glance

Lower Subansiri District of Arunachal Pradesh is located in between 92º 40΄ and 94º 21΄ East Longitude and 26º 55΄ and 28º 21΄ North Latitudes. In the North the District is bounded by Kurung-Kumey District and some part of Upper Subansiri District, West Siang District and some part of Upper Subansiri District is touching to the Eastern side, Papumpare District and State of Assam to the south and Kurung Kumey and Papumpare Districts to the Western side.


The river Subansiri, a tributary of Brahmaputra river had provided the name of the district as a undivided huge Subansiri district. The mother river subansiri that flows through Raga Circle of this District. The District was a part of North Lakhimpur District of Assam till 1914. In 1954, Subansiri Area was named as the “Subansiri Frontier Division” and its Headquarter was later transferred to a small township Ziro. Like other part of NEFA, the District was under the Ministry of External Affairs. On 1st September, 1965, the Ministry of Home Affairs took over the Administrative charge of NEFA from Ministry of External Affairs and Subansiri Frontier Division was named as Subansiri District and Political Officer (administrative in charge) was designated as Deputy Commissioner, Addl. Political Officer as Addl. Deputy Commissioner.

On 13th May’ 1980, Subansiri District was bifurcated into Lower and Upper Subansiri District, Upper Subansiri District was established with its Sub-Division Daporijo, and remaining part of Subansiri District was placed under Lower Subansiri. On 22nd September, 1992, Lower Subansiri District was again divided and a new district Papumpare was formed. Latter, in April 2001, another split was encountered and a new Kurung Kumey was emerged as a separate district covering the Koloriang Sub- Division and some portion of Ziro (Sadar) Sub-Division.

The Lower Subansiri District covers approximately an area of 3,460(Approx) Sq. km. The topography of the District is mostly mountainous terrain, where the hill range varies approximately from 1000 to 1600 meters above sea level. A greater part of its falls within the Higher mountain Zone consisting of tangled peaks and valleys. Nature has gifted the heart land of the District in the form of magnificent plateau at above 1564 meters above sea level, where District Headquarter, Ziro is located.

For more detail click Download

Site Developed by KVK Lower Subansiri, Hosted by National Informatics Center.